You must first reach the break-even ROAS point in your advertising campaigns before considering scaling an e-commerce business economically utilizing sponsored advertising. You’re now exposing your company to the possibility of a large number of new clients, which translates into a bigger net profit each month.
It’s a good idea to incorporate paid advertising into your overall growth strategy, but you need to be sure about what ROAS stands for in marketing. You can do it profitably or you risk losing money.
You’ll undoubtedly discover that you end up paying more than twice to produce paid ad sales, compared to marketplaces that take a 15% sales acquisition cut. This is why while setting up, it’s crucial to be sure you are familiar with all of your numbers.
How to use Break-even ROAS calculator
The formula for break-even ROAS is the following:
1 / Average Net Profit Margin
However, there are a few stages involved in the return on ad spend calculator.
Average order value/cost of items supplied in
Step 1: AOV/COG = net profit
Step 2: Net profit/AOV*1 = net profit margin
You should take the time to calculate these values carefully. You run the risk of skewing the data if you simply assume any of your input numbers, such as COGs (cost of goods), for instance.
If this happens, it can have a domino effect and your break-even ROAS may turn out to be lower than it is now.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is ROAS?
ROAS, or return on advertising spend, is essentially a measurement of how much revenue you generate for every dollar you spend on advertising. You can use the ROAS definition to assess the general success of your digital marketing initiatives or to focus on assessing the success of a particular campaign or ad group.
ROAS calculation lies in determining the money your campaigns have brought in. You need to divide it by the amount you spent on advertising, then multiply the result by 100 to get your ROAS.
If, for example, your total ad expenditure in February was $10,000 and you generated $20,000 in income from all of your campaigns, here is how you would determine your ROAS calculation formula:
ROAS = $20,000 / $10,000 x 100 = 200%
Although some individuals determine ROAS as a percentage, others may prefer to express ROAS as a multiple, a ratio, or a monetary number.
What is a good ROAS?
Is the 300% ROAS in our case above a good return? It varies.
A 300% ROAS means that you made $2 after spending $20 on the advertising campaign.
However, your margin decreases further if you have to use the $2 to cover other expenditures like employee salaries, delivery charges, or PayPal fees (if you’re collecting money via PayPal).
Although every company has a particular set of goals for its marketing and advertising initiatives, the majority are geared toward increasing sales and, ultimately, profits. Therefore, if you want to safeguard your net profit margin, you must construct some margin of safety in your return on ad spend calculator. Therefore, a healthy ROAS is followed by profitability once less evident advertising expenditures, such as vendor fees, commissions, transaction fees, and other business expenses, have been taken into account.
How to Calculate Break-Even ROAS for an E-Commerce Store With Multiple Products?
Your online store’s average profit margin percentage will be consistent whether you only sell one item, or if all of your items are priced the same. This makes the aforementioned break-even ROAS calculation quick and simple.
On the other hand, you won’t have a constant unit profit margin percentage for all of your products if your store sells a range of goods at various prices and with different cost structures. How do you calculate ROAS in this case? It is best to calculate an acceptable average profit margin percentage estimate utilizing the overall average order value and the average cost of items sold for your store.
Why is it Important to Pre-Calculate Your Profit Using the ROAS Calculator?
The Break Even ROAS calculation is crucial.
For each campaign, ad set/ad group, and ad social media, such as Facebook, TikTok, and Snapchat provide the ROAS. As a result, you can monitor the effectiveness of that particular aspect of your web marketing campaign on many levels.
A ROAS of 1 indicates that you are investing the same amount of money that you are converting into profits. Facebook, TikTok, and Snapchat will show a ROAS of 1 if you invest €10 to sell a €10 product. This essentially means you make a profit. However, you must also factor in additional expenses when determining your target ROAS and if you want to know how to calculate ad spend accurately. For instance, the price of the items, shipping, transaction, and possibly other charges.
Social Media ROAS – ROI Calculator
Next-generation Digital Marketing Agency
We are a direct response digital marketing agency that leads eCommerce brands to a new level of success.
Some business owners have no idea, but it’s as simple as that: once you’re able to earn 3$ from every 1$ spent, you’re on the highway to prosperity. It’s the best time to build the business of your dreams… And then enlarge it to an unprecedented scale.
WE can help you to accomplish all this.
© 2022 AAMfunnel. All Rights Reserved.